The ILO in Solomon Islands

Solomon Islands is an archipelagic state situated in the south-west Pacific Ocean, approximately 2,000 km to the north-east of Australia. Its land mass of 28,400 km² extends over nearly 1,000 islands comprising nine main island groups. The capital, Honiara, is located on Guadalcanal, the largest island.

The United Kingdom granted Solomon Islands internal self-government in 1976, followed by independence on 7 July 1978. At independence, Solomon Islands joined the Commonwealth with Queen Elizabeth II as its Head of State, represented by a Governor-General.

The population of Solomon Islands, estimated to be about 555,000, is predominantly Melanesian (about 95 per cent) although there are also small Polynesian, Micronesian, Chinese and European communities.

Solomon Islands became a member State of the ILO in 1984. To date they have ratified 22 ILO Conventions which comprise of all the 8 fundamental Conventions, one governance and 13 technical Conventions. The ILO Office for Pacific Island countries continues to work closely with the tripartite constituents. The tripartite setting in Solomon Islands is represented by the Government through its Ministry of Commerce, Industries, Labour and Immigration; the representative organization of workers is the Solomon Islands Council of Trade Unions and the representative organization of employers is the Solomon Islands Chamber of Commerce and Industries.

The ILO has recently completed the technical cooperation project “Human security initiative for tensions reduction, reconciliation and rehabilitation in the Solomon Islands" in October 2015 and continues to work in Solomon Islands based on biannual work plans together with tripartite constituents.