321st Session of the Governing Body

Luc Cortebeeck, workers’ delegate of Belgium, re-elected as vice-president of the ILO Governing Body

Press release | 13 June 2014
GENEVA – Luc Cortebeeck, workers’ delegate of Belgium, was re-elected Vice-President of the Governing Body and President of the Workers’ Group of the International Labour Organization at its 321st session, for a three year term.

"The values at the origin of the ILO, according to which work is not a simple good, are still very relevent and the present crisis can only be solved in the framework of tripartism and social dialogue between governments, employers and workers.", said M. Cortebeeck, in his intervention at the opening session of the Governing Body.

Before his first term of office in the ILO Governing Body in 2011, Luc Cortebeeck began his career as a trade unionist in the Confederation of Christian Trade Unions of Belgium (ACV-CSC) in 1972 as head of the youth section in Mechelen in Flanders. He joined the national secretariat of ACV-CSC in 1973 in the business service. In 1983, he was elected secretary of the Mechelen Regional Federation. In 1987, he became National Secretary, with responsibility for overseeing Flanders. From 1999 to 2011, Luc Cortebeeck was president of AVC-CSC, and he is still its honorary president today.

Luc Cortebeeck has played multiple roles within the international trade union movement: vice president of the International Trade Union Confederation (2006-2014) and vice-president of the Trade Union Advisory Committee to the OECD (from 1999 to 2012).

At ILO, Mr Cortebeeck was workers’ spokesperson of the Committee on the Application of Standards from 1999 to 2011, before taking over from Sir Lee Roy Trotman (Barbados) as President of the Workers’ Group and Vice-President of the Governing Body in 2011.

The Governing Body also re-elected Ms Raquel Gonzalez, currently Director of the International Trade Union Confederation Geneva Office, as Workers’ Group Secretary.
On 2 June 2014, on the fringes of the 103rd session of the International Labour Conference, 122 government, employer and worker delegates, were elected to the Governing Body of ILO for a three-year term (2014-2017).

Workers Regular Members of Governing Body (2014-2017)
1-ASAMOAH Kofi (Ghana)

2-ATWOLI Francis (Kenya)

3-BUNTENBACH Annelie (Germany)

4-CARVALHO Maria Fernanda    (Angola)


6-CORTEBEECK Luc (Belgium)

7-FOX Sarah (United Stades)
8-GUANGPING Jiang (Chine)

9-GURNEY Sam (United Kingdom)

10-KELLY Helen (New-Zealand)

11-MARTINEZ Gerardo (Argentina)

12-SAKURADA Takaaki (Japan)

13-SHIMAKOV Mikhail (Russia Federation)

14-THIBAULT Bernard (France)

 Workers Deputy Members of Governing Body (2014-2017)
1-AL MAAYTAH Mazem (Jordan)

2-AWAN Zahoor (Pakistan)

3-BYERS Barbara (Canada)

4-CAPPUCCIO Silvana (Italy)

5-CARCAMO Idalmi (Honduras)

6-DIMITROV Plamen (Bulgaria)

7-DJONDANG François (Chad)

8-EL AMRI Amal (Morocco)

9-FAMILIA Eulogia (Dominican Republic)

10-GUIRO Mody (Senegal)

11-LIEW KIAH ENG Mary (Singapore)

12-LISBOA Antonio (Brazil)

13-MAUNG Maung (Myanmar)

14-NTSHALINTSHALI Bheki (South Africa)

15-OHRT Jens Erik (Denmark)

16-PANDEY Binda (Nepal)

17-PASSCHIER Catelene (Netherlands)

18-SIWELA Sithokozile (Zimbabwe)

19-TRIANA Miriam Luz (Colombia)


The Governing Body, composed of 56 titular members (28 Governments, 14 Employers and 14 Workers) and 66 deputy members (28 Governments, 19 Employers and 19 Workers), is the executive body of the International Labour Office. The Governing Body takes decisions on ILO policy, sets the agenda of the International Labour Conference, and drafts the programme and budget for the Organization before they are submitted to the Conference. It meets three times a year, in March, June and November.

For more information, please contact:

Mamadou Kaba Souare, Communications Officer, ILO Bureau for Workers’ Activities- Geneva,
+41 22 799 74 08, souare@ilo.org