Media advisory

ILO to release assessment of the impact of the conflict in Ukraine on the world of work

Media advisory | 06 May 2022
GENEVA (ILO News) – The International Labour Organization (ILO) is to release an initial assessment of the impact of the Ukraine crisis on the world of work, on Wednesday 11 May.

The brief explains how economic disruption, combined with significant internal population displacement and flows of refugees, is causing large-scale losses in terms of employment and income. It includes estimates of how the situation could worsen if the hostilities escalate.

It also examines the impact of the crisis on some neighbouring countries – including Hungary, Moldova, Poland, Romania and Slovakia – and in Central Asia.

The report also explains how the conflict could complicate the recovery from the COVID-19 crisis.

The brief and all associated materials will be under STRICT EMBARGO until Wednesday 11 May at 13:00 CEST (11:00 GMT).

For UNOG-accredited correspondents, an embargoed virtual press briefing will take place on Wednesday 11 May from 11:00 to 12:00 CEST (9:00 to 10:00 GMT). Login details will be sent to journalists ahead of the briefing.

Selected regional journalists will be able to follow the virtual briefing via YouTube. The link will be sent in advance.

Heinz Koller, ILO Regional Director for Europe & Central Asia, and Sangheon Lee, Director of the ILO Employment Policy Department will present the findings at the press briefing.

Embargoed copies of the brief and press release can be made available to recognized media on request.

Audio of the briefing will be available to the Palais press corps and registered journalists after the press conference.

For further information and to arrange media interviews, please contact the ILO Department of Communication: newsroom@ilo.org.

For broadcast coverage and interviews, please contact: multimedia@ilo.org.