Project Advisory Committee (PAC) - Fourth Meeting

The fourth meeting of the Project Advisory Committee (PAC) was held virtually between the EU and Ministry of External Affairs, Government of India and implementing partners – ILO, ICMPD and ICM.

The Government of India (GoI) and European Union (EU) came together to jointly review the progress of the project activities, approve the extension phase and the workplan.

The implementing partners - ILO, ICMPD and local partner ICM presented the project’s progress since the third PAC meeting held last year 2 July 2020 and updated all parties in attendance, on the activities completed, ongoing, as well as planned for 2021-2022.

Both the governments (India and the EU) acknowledged the shift in engagement between the two sides with both expressing their contentment with the enhanced cooperation and the increased depth in dialogue. Considerable progress on the implementation of the EU-India CAMM, with progress towards all priority areas particularly irregular migration was noted.

The contribution of the project to enhance the EU-India cooperation and build momentum on migration and mobility issues was recognised. Both sides affirmed their commitment to the project and assured full cooperation for ongoing and planned activities.

List of participants

Indian Delegates

Ministry of External Affairs (MEA)
Mr Abbagani Ramu, Joint Secretary (Overseas Indian Affairs-I)
Mr Raj Kumar Under-secretary (Overseas Indian Affairs-I)

European Union Delegates
Mr Raimund Magis, Deputy Ambassador, EU Delegation to India and Bhutan
Ms Silvena Pesta, Deputy Head of Unit A3, Migration and Home Affairs, European Commission
Mr Benoît Sauveroche, First Counsellor, Delegation of the European Union to India
Mr Marco Funk, International Relations Assistant, DG Migration and Home Affairs
Ms Eline Houwer, FPI Programme Officer, EU Delegation to India

Implementing Partners

India Centre for Migration (ICM)
Dr Surabhi Singh, Chief Administrative Officer
Dr Priyadarshika Subba, Research Assistant

International Labour Organisation (ILO)
Ms Seeta Sharma, Technical Officer
Ms Shruti Vidyadhar Rane, Research and Administrative Assistant

International Centre for Migration Policy Development (ICMPD)
Ms Sedef Dearing, Regional Coordinator for South Asia
Mr Naozad Hodiwala, Country Coordinator and Project Manager
Mr Ameen Arimbra, Associate Project Officer