1/7
2020-21年全球工资报告: COVID-19时代的工资和最低工资

2020-21年全球工资报告: COVID-19时代的工资和最低工资

新冠肺炎疫情已演变成史无前例的全球经济和劳动力市场危机,危及数百万工人和企业。尽管疫情对就业的影响已被广泛记录在案,但对工资的影响却鲜为人知。

疫情对工人的工资产生了什么影响?政府和社会伙伴采取了哪些关键措施保护工人的工资?危机前和危机中的最低工资是如何变化的?

我们邀请您在此新闻故事中探索国际劳工组织《2020-21全球工资报告》的成果。 随着新数据的不断获得,此新闻故事将定期更新。

近期工资趋势

危机前

尽管各国的情况不尽相同,但危机前的总趋势是,一些中低收入国家的实际平均工资增长迅速,而高收入国家的增长则慢得多。

在高收入国家,工资增长落后于劳动生产率增长,这一差距导致全球劳动收入占GDP比例(工资占GDP的比例)下降。

危机期间的工资补贴

自2020年3月和4月以来,疫情及随之而来的停工使企业面临破产、数百万工人面临失业的危险,至少40个国家实施了“临时工资补贴”,作为一系列政策措施的一部分,以抵消危机的影响。

这些临时工资补贴旨在防止大规模裁员,帮助企业留住熟练工人,并在停工结束后支持生产恢复。

补贴还旨在确保,工人可以至少继续获得其正常工资的一部分,即使一些人不得不减薪。

阿根廷

工资补贴因企业规模而异。对小型企业(不超过100名工人)而言,工资补贴在2020年2月贡献了工资总额的50%,其中最少为当前的最低工资,最多为当前最低工资的两倍。
对于较大的企业,生产恢复计划提供了每人6000至10000阿根廷比索的资金。截至4月20日,80%的企业(或42万家)已经提交了申请。

孟加拉国

政府已拨款6亿美元补贴成衣出口企业的贷款。
这些贷款将用于支付3个月的工资,以保护这一非常重要的行业中约400万工人的工作。已经裁员的公司不符合申请条件。

博茨瓦纳

国家补偿员工月工资的50%,最低为1000印加币,最高为2500印加币,期限为3个月。所有没有政府出资的跨行业企业都可以申请。这项补贴只适用于该国公民。

加拿大

3、4、5月收入与去年相比下降至少30%的注册雇主有资格获得加拿大紧急工资补贴(CEWS)。为了重新雇佣下岗工人,并防止未来再次解雇,CEWS补贴了工资的75%,每周最多为847加元,该补贴最初计划从3月15日起持续12周。
5月15日,政府将CEWS延长12周,并宣布将该项目维持至年底。截至8月2日,已拨出255.1亿加币,支付1100多万份薪金。

 

法国

为了防止困难时期的经济裁员,部分失业计划已延期并得到改进,以应对新冠肺炎危机。任何因封锁或保持社交距离措施而被迫停止经营活动的企业都可以申请工资补贴。
政府补贴员工总工资的70%(收入为最低工资的员工享受100%),最高不超过最低工资的4.5倍,为期不超过12个月。从6月1日起,对于受影响较少的经营活动,这一比例减少到60%,从10月1日起,从事部分经营活动的所有员工将获得其总工资的60%。
在3月1日至7月20日期间提出的约1200万份申请中,该计划在3月、4月、5月和6月分别保障了相当于220万个、560万个、300万个和150万个全职岗位。政府已为该计划提供了约310亿欧元的预算资金。

德国

短时工作制承担了没有子女的工人60%的工资以及有子女的工人67%的工资。剩余部分由企业根据自身能力承担。预计在第四个月和第七个月之后,该制度承担的无子女员工的工资将增加到70%和80%,有子女员工的工资将增加到77%和87%。
符合条件的企业,只要其10%的劳动者工作时间减少10%,即可登记注册。它还涵盖了临时工和外包临时工的企业。据估计,在3月至4月间,约有930万人受益于短时工作制,这一数字已经远远高于2008-09年金融危机期间的数字。

马来西亚

同样,工资补贴也因企业雇员人数的不同而不同,每个工人每月从600林吉特到1200林吉特不等。员工少于75人的公司所获补贴最高;员工人数不超过200人的公司可获得每人800林吉特的补贴;员工超过200名的公司为600林吉特。
该计划旨在保护大约100万名工人,预计将花费12亿林吉特。该计划要求雇员保留工作,可在6个月内获得全额工资(其中3个月有补贴)。

摩洛哥

在国家社会保险协会(CNSS)登记的雇员,在其雇主遇到困难时,每月可获得2000迪拉姆的净补助。在6月15日至30日间支付的补助金来自一个约100亿迪拉姆的新冠肺炎基金,条件是雇主需证明其经营活动部分或全部停止。
这一支持体系后来拓展到非正规就业部门,非正规就业工人可获得800至1200迪拉姆的一次性付款,视家庭规模而定。今年6月,尽管经济活动略有好转,但私营部门仍有200多万名雇员从这项支持中受益,成本高达13亿迪拉姆。

英国

新冠肺炎工作保留计划可负担员工月薪的80%。每月最高限额为2500英镑,为期至少3个月。工作保留计划规定,休假员工的工作时间必须减少到零,禁止任何折中安排。
然而,从7月1日起,雇主可以减少工作时间让其雇员重返工作岗位,而政府继续对正常工作的非工时给予补贴,就像德国的短时工作制或法国的部分失业计划一样。在9月和10月,政府将其补贴供款降低到70%,之后降低到60%,雇主必须分别负担10%和20%的月工资总额。
截至8月2日,约120万雇主已让960万工人暂时休假,总成本为338亿英镑。

1/4

2020年实际平均工资发生了什么变化?

早期数据显示,在美国等一些国家,平均收入在统计数据中出现了惊人的增长。然而,这在很大程度上是人为的,反映出经济中低收入工作的流失。当低薪工人失业时,平均工资反映了仍在就业的高薪工人的工资。

在其他国家,失业率没有增加太多(可能是由于采取了工资补贴和其他保留工作的措施),随着工作时间的减少或工人名义工资的冻结或降低,平均工资保持不变或下降。

这场危机对2020年平均工资的影响有多大,只有等到各国统计部门在这一年或更晚的时候发布新的统计估计数时,才会水落石出。

最低工资和不平等

疫情引发的经济和劳动力市场危机已经危及弱势群体,并可能进一步加剧不平等现象,使许多家庭陷入贫困。在这种情况下,由政府设定或通过集体谈判达成的适当最低工资可以发挥重要作用。它们可以保护工人的工资免于下降到过低水平,防止贫困和不平等现象进一步加剧,并有助于经济稳定和复苏。

有三个因素会影响最低工资能否实现其充分的再分配潜力:(a)最低工资受益者的特征;(b)法律覆盖面广和最低工资立法的遵守情况;(c)适当的最低工资水平。

据估计,全球有3.27亿工人的收入为当地的最低工资或低于最低工资。这占全球工薪阶层的约19%,其中包括1.52亿女性。

工资为最低工资或低于最低工资的工人往往生活在收入较低的家庭中,并且多为女性、年轻工人(25岁以下)、受教育程度较低的工人和农村工人。但是,近80%的最低工资和低于最低工资收入者的年龄在25岁以上,并且几乎一半有孩子。这些结果因国家和地区而异。

法律上覆盖了哪些人?

90%以上的国际劳工组织成员国都设有最低工资。有些国家只有一个适用于所有雇员的最低工资标准。其他国家有更复杂的多费率制度,因地区、行业或职业而异。

无论采用何种制度,为了有效地保护工人并减少不平等,最低工资都应该在法律上适用于那些工资极有可能过低的工人。

不幸的是,情况并非总是如此。有两类工人面临着工资过低的风险,即农业工人和家政工人。至少有29个国家将这两个类别中的某些或全部工人排除在最低工资规定之外。

遵守规定和非正规经济

不遵守规定会削弱最低工资的有效性。我们估计,全球有2.66亿工人的工资低于最低工资,这可能是因为他们没有受到法律保护,或者是因为没有遵守最低工资规定。

在一种假设的情况下,最低工资覆盖了所有领取工资的工人群体,并且完全遵守最低工资规定,我们的模拟表明,不平等和贫困程度可以大大降低。

虽然可以通过宣传运动和劳动监察等措施促进规定的遵守,但高度的非正规性和低生产率可能使遵守规定特别具有挑战性。

在全球范围内,非正规经济中有20亿工人,包括7.24亿临时工或领薪工人,其中许多人的工资低于最低工资。因此,最低工资必须与提高生产力和使非正规工人进入正规经济的政策同时实施。

设定最低工资水平

为了减少贫困和不平等,应将最低工资定在适当的水平,同时要考虑到工人及其家庭的需求以及经济因素。

世上没有完美的公式,但是使用统计指标可以帮助政府、雇主和工人就适合本国情况的水平达成协议。多年来,国际劳工组织向许多国家提供了技术咨询。

最低工资也应定期调整。危机前十年,我们所掌握的数据中只有大约70%的国家提高了最低工资的实际价值。

自新冠肺炎疫情爆发以来,一些国家选择坚持贯彻计划中的最低工资上调,而另一些国家则决定维持当前水平不变。

下一步

在不久的将来,新冠肺炎危机的经济和就业后果可能对工资造成巨大下行压力。

在应对危机和为危机后新的更好的“常态”做规划时,政府、雇主和工人应加强有关工资的社会对话。

为保就业,同时保护工人及其家庭的收入,维持需求,避免通货紧缩,必须对最低工资和高于现有最低工资的收入进行充分平衡的调整。

社会对话有助于确保所有人都能公平地分享进步的成果,确保所有就业和需要保护的人都能享有最低生活工资。

本网站使用cookies。请点击此处, 了解更多信息。继续浏览,表示您同意使用cookies。

1/7
Global Wage Report 2020/21: Wages and minimum wages in the time of COVID-19

Global Wage Report 2020-21: Wages and minimum wages in the time of COVID-19

The COVID-19 pandemic has transformed into an unprecedented global economic and labour market crisis, hurting millions of workers and enterprises. While the impact on jobs has been widely documented, the effects on wages are less known.   

What have been the pandemic’s impacts on workers’ wages? What key measures have governments and social partners taken to protect workers’ wages? How have minimum wages evolved, both before and during the crisis?

We invite you to explore the findings of the 2020-21 edition of the ILO’s Global Wage Report in this InfoStory. The InfoStory will be updated regularly as new statistical data are collected.

Recent trends in wages

Before the crisis

While country experiences varied, before the crisis the general trend was that real average wages were growing rapidly in some lower- and middle-income countries but much more slowly in high-income countries.  

In high-income countries, wage growth lagged behind labour productivity growth, and this gap led to a global decline in the labour income share (the share of GDP going to wages).

Wage subsidies during the crisis

From March and April 2020, when the pandemic and resulting lockdowns threatened to push enterprises into bankruptcy and millions of workers into unemployment, at least 40 countries have adopted “temporary wage subsidies” as part of a range of policy measures to counteract the effects of the crisis.

These temporary wage subsidies sought to prevent mass layoffs, to help enterprises retain their skilled workers, and to support the recovery of production once the lockdowns ended. 

They also aimed to ensure that workers continued to receive at least part of their usual wages, even if some workers had to take wage cuts.

Argentina

Wage subsidies vary by enterprise size. For small enterprises (up to 100 workers), the Asignación Compensatoria al Salario contributed up to 50% of the gross salary in February 2020, with a minimum value of one current minimum wage and a maximum value of two current minimum wages.

For larger enterprises, the REPRO programme offered a payment of between ARS 6000 and ARS 10000. As of 20 April, 80% of businesses (or 420,000) had submitted claims.

Bangladesh

The Government has allocated USD 600 million to subsidize loans for exporting companies in the ready-made garment sector.

The loans are to be used to pay three months of wages to safeguard jobs for some 4 million workers in this very important sector. Companies that have already laid off employees are not eligible.

 

Botswana

The State compensates 50% of employees’ monthly wages, with a minimum at BWP 1000, a cap at BWP 2500, and a duration of three months. All enterprises across sectors with no government shares are eligible. The subsidy only applies to citizens.

Canada

Registered employers whose revenues decreased by at least 30% in March, April and May as compared to last year are eligible for the Canada Emergency Wage Subsidy (CEWS). Seeking to re-employ laid-off workers and to prevent future dismissals, CEWS subsidizes 75% of salaries, with a maximum of CAD 847 per week, for an initial duration of 12 weeks from 15 March.

On 15 May the Government extended CEWS for an additional 12 weeks and declared its intention to maintain the programme to the end of the year. As of 2 August, CAD 25.51 billion had been allocated, covering more than 11 million salaries.

 

France

The pre-existing chômage partiel scheme, intended to prevent economic layoffs in difficult times, has been extended and strengthened to cope with the COVID-19 crisis. Any business forced to cease activity due to lockdown or social distancing measures can apply for a wage subsidy.

The government subsidizes 70% of the employee's gross salary (100% for those paid at the minimum wage), up to a limit of 4.5 minimum wages, for a maximum period of 12 months. As of 1 June this was reduced to 60% for least exposed activities, and from 1 October all employees in partial activity will receive 60% of their gross salary.

For the some 12 million requests made between 1 March and 20 July, the scheme protected, in terms of full-time equivalent, 2.2 million jobs in March, 5.6 million in April, 3 million in May  and 1.5 million in June. Some 31 billion euros have been budgeted to finance the scheme.

Germany

The Kurzarbeit scheme covers a percentage of workers’ wages ̶  60% for individuals without children and 67% for those with children. The remaining percentage is covered by enterprises according to their capacities. After the fourth and seventh month, an increase to 70 and 80% for employees without children and 77 and 87% for employees with children is foreseen.

Eligible enterprises can register if 10% of their workforce have their working hours reduced by 10%. It also covers temporary workers and enterprises that contract out temporary workers. An estimated 9.3 million persons benefited from Kurzarbeit between March and April, a number already much larger than that during the 2008-09 financial crisis.

Malaysia

The wage subsidy similarly varies depending on the number of employees in the establishment, ranging  from MYR 600 to 1200 per month per worker. Companies with less than 75 employees receive the highest amount; companies with up to 200 employees receive MYR 800; and companies with more than 200 workers, MYR $ 600.

The scheme, intended to protect around 1 million workers for an estimated cost of MYR 1.2 billion, requires that employees keep their jobs and be paid their full salary for a period of six months (3 months being subsidized).

Morocco

Employees registered with the Caisse Nationale de Sécurité Sociale (CNSS) whose employers are experiencing difficulties receives a net monthly lump sum compensation of MAD  2000. Compensations paid from 15 to 30 June came from a COVID-19 fund of some MAD 10 billion, and required employers to certify partial or total stopping of activity.

This support system was subsequently extended to the informal sector, with informal workers receiving a one-off payment ranging between MAD 800 and 1200 depending on the size of the household. In June, despite a slight upturn in activity, more than 2 million employees in the private sector benefited from this support, at a cost of MAD 1.3 billion.

United Kingdom

The Coronavirus Job Retention Scheme accounts for 80% of workers’ monthly wages. A ceiling is set at GBP 2,500 a month for a duration of at least 3 months. The Job Retention Scheme had stipulated that working hours of furloughed employees must be reduced to zero, prohibiting any intermediate arrangements.

However, from 1 July employers can bring their employees back to work with reduced working hours while the government continued to subsidize normal non-worked hours, as in the German Kurzarbeit or French chômage partiel schemes. In September and October, the Government will reduce its contribution to 70% and then 60%, with employers having to provide 10% and 20% of the gross monthly wage.

As of 2 August, 9.6 million workers had been furloughed by around 1.2 million employers, at a total cost of GBP 33.8 billion.

1/4

What has happened to real average wages in 2020?

Early data shows that in some countries, for example the US, average earnings took a surprising jump in the statistics. However, this was largely artificial, reflecting the loss of lower-paying jobs in the economy. When low-paid workers become unemployed, the average wage reflects the wages of the higher-paid workers who remain employed. 

In other countries, where unemployment did not increase as much – possibly owing to the use of wage subsidies and other job retention measures - average wages remained flat or declined, as working time was cut or as the nominal wages of workers were frozen or reduced.

The full extent to which the crisis has impacted average wages in 2020 will only become clear as national statistical offices publish their new statistical estimates towards the end of the year or even later.

Minimum wages and inequality

The economic and labour market crisis due to COVID-19 has hurt vulnerable groups, threatening to further increase inequality and to push many families into poverty. In this context, adequate minimum wages – set by governments or negotiated through collective bargaining – can play an important role. They can protect workers’ wages from spiralling down to unduly low levels, prevent even larger increases in poverty and inequality, and contribute to economic stability and recovery.

There are three factors that influence the extent to which a minimum wage may realize its full redistributive potential: (a) the characteristics of the beneficiaries of the minimum wage; (b) broad legal coverage and compliance with minimum wage legislation; and (c) an adequate minimum wage level.

Regarding the beneficiaries of the minimum wage, an estimated 327 million workers globally are paid at their countries’ minimum wage or below. This represents about 19% of the world’s wage earners, and includes 152 million women.

Workers earning the minimum wage or below tend to live in households with lower incomes. Women, young workers (aged under 25), workers with lower education and rural workers are all over-represented. However, almost 80 per cent of sub-minimum and minimum wage earners are aged over 25 and almost half of them have children. These findings vary by country and region.

Who is legally covered?

Minimum wages exist in more than 90% of ILO member States. Some countries have just one minimum wage applicable to all employees. Other countries have more complex systems with multiple rates, which vary by region, industry or occupation.

Whatever the system, to be effective at protecting workers and reducing inequality, minimum wages should be legally applicable to categories of workers who are most at risk of unduly low pay.

Unfortunately, this is not always the case. Two categories at risk of unduly low pay are agricultural and domestic workers. At least 29 countries exclude some or all of these two categories from minimum wage regulations.  

Compliance and the informal economy

Non-compliance undermines the effectiveness of minimum wages. We estimate that globally 266 million workers are paid less than the minimum wage, either because they are not legally protected or because of non-compliance.

In a hypothetical scenario where minimum wages covered all groups of wage workers and where there was full compliance, our simulations show that inequality and poverty levels could be considerably reduced.

While compliance can be promoted by measures like information campaigns and labour inspections, high levels of informality and low productivity can make compliance particularly challenging.

Globally, the informal economy accounts for 2 billion workers, including 724 million casual or salaried wage workers – many of whom earn less than the minimum wage. Minimum wages thus need to be accompanied by policies that raise productivity and bring informal workers into the formal economy.

Setting adequate minimum wage levels

To reduce poverty and inequality, minimum wages should be set at adequate levels, taking into account the needs of workers and their families as well as economic factors.

There is no perfect formula, but the use of statistical indicators can help governments, employers and workers to reach agreement on levels that are adequate in national circumstances. Over the years, the ILO has provided technical advice to numerous countries.

Minimum wages should also be adjusted regularly. In the ten years before the crisis, only about 70% of the countries for which we have data had raised the real value of their minimum wage. 

Since the outbreak of COVID-19, some countries have opted to stick to planned minimum wage increases, while others decided to freeze their rates. 

What comes next?

In the near future, the economic and employment consequences of the COVID-19 crisis are likely to continue to inflict massive downward pressure on wages.

In navigating the crisis and planning for the new and better “normal” after the crisis, governments, employers and workers should seek to strengthen social dialogue around wages.

Adequately balanced wage adjustments – both minimum wages and wages above existing floors– will be required to safeguard jobs and at the same time protect the incomes of workers and their families to sustain demand and avoid deflationary situations. 

Social dialogue can help to ensure that all receive a fair share of the fruits of progress, and that a minimum living wage is enjoyed by all those employed and in need of protection.

This website uses cookies. For more information about these please click here. By continuing to browse you consent to the use of cookies