Contact us

ILO Library

4 route des Morillons
CH - 1211 Geneva 22

Email :


Promoting Digital Access to Research in least developed countries

1,400 librarians, researchers and students from 10 countries have learnt how to access and search digital scientific and academic information provided by Research4Life partners in the framework of a new activity of the UN’s Technology Bank for Least Developed Countries.

News | 20 December 2018
Country focal points of the new UN Technology Bank for the Least Developed Countries (TBLDC) Digital Access to Research (DAR) activity gathered between 3 and 7 December 2018 in Geneva, Switzerland in the ILO to discuss main achievements and lessons learnt of their first year.

As Barbara Aronson, coordination manager for DAR highlighted: “We are proud to report that the new effort delivered more than 35 face to face workshops for 1,400 participants in ten countries in 2018 with initial outreach conducted in a further two countries. Librarians, researchers, medical, agricultural and environmental specialists from twelve of the UN Least Developed Countries (1)  are now able to access and make the best use of available scientific and professional information in health, agriculture, environment, innovation and law provided by Research4 Life partners. What’s more they are also committed to deliver further training to their users, colleagues and students.”

Participants of the workshop were addressed by the new Managing Director of the TBLDC, who took up his appointment on 26 November 2018. The gathering also learnt more about Research4Life resources and discussed challenges they face, including language barriers, unreliable internet connections or poor road infrastructure.

The workshop was held in the premises of the International Labour Organization (ILO), one of the UN members of the Research4Life partnership, managing a programme providing online access to legal information (GOALI).

To learn more about Research4Life partnership, please visit

1 Bangladesh, Bhutan, Burkina Faso, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mozambique, Nepal, Rwanda, Senegal, Uganda, United Republic of Tanzania Faso