Virtual Symposium

Advisory Committee on Integrating Trade and Decent Work

The Advisory Committee on Integrating Trade and Decent Work is an integral part of the ILO research programme on Integrating Trade and Decent Work (INTEGRATE). The purpose of the Advisory Committee is to (i) provide technical advice and feedback on analytical frameworks and key findings of the research; (ii) participate in meetings and workshops, and (iii) engage in dialogue in national tripartite seminars to advance knowledge and promote diffusion of the findings.

First Advisory Committee Meeting

The first Advisory Committee meeting was held virtually on 27 October 2021 and hosted a pre-launch of the ILO’s Labour Provisions in Trade Agreements Hub (LP Hub). The LP Hub is an online database that allows users to navigate through a comprehensive and structured compilation of the text of labour provisions in more than 100 trade agreements. This meeting gave committee members the opportunity to provide feedback and discuss next steps in terms of research opportunities for the programme in the nexus of trade and labour.


14:00 – 14:15 Opening and Introductions
  • Richard SAMANS, Director, ILO Research Department, Chair Advisory Committee
14:15 – 15:00 Pre-launch of Labour Provisions in Trade Agreements Hub (LP HUB)
(Moderator: Marva Corley-Coulibaly, Programme Manager)
  • Introduction and opening remarks: Marva CORLEY-COULIBALY
  • DEMO of LP Hub: Ira POSTOLACHI and Gaia GRASSELLI, Project officers
  • Comments and Discussion
15:00 – 15:30 Next steps and future research
(Moderator: Richard SAMANS)
  • Discussion of committee members’ perspectives on research opportunities

Advisory Committee Members

The committee consists of twelve members, particularly government and social partner representatives, along with academic and technical experts on trade and sustainable development issues, as well as representatives of the development cooperation partners. The initial term of engagement is during the biennium 2021-2022 and members are invited to actively participate in a total of four meetings during this period.

Name Title & Affiliation
Richard SAMANS Chair Advisory Committee
Director, ILO Research Department
Ruth SEITZ Deputy Head of Unit
Directorate-General for Employment, European Commission
Nguyen Manh CUONG Director General
Helen LAMPORT Head of Labour Markets Trade Policy and Negotiations at Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy (BEIS)
United Kingdom
Joshua KAGAN Acting Deputy Assistant
U.S. Trade Representative for Labor, (USTR)
Washington, D.C., United States
Adelle BLACKETT Professor of Law and Canada Research Chair in Transnational Labour Law and Development, McGill University
Joost PAULEWYN Professor and Head
International Law Department,
Graduate Institute
Co-Director of the CTEI
Karolien DE BRUYNE Professor of Economics
University of Leuven (KUL)
Brussels, Belgium
Axel MARX Deputy Director
Centre for Global Governance Studies (GGS), University of Leuven (KUL)
Leuven, Belgium
Evious K. ZGOVU Researcher
Centre for Research in Economic Development & International Trade (CREDIT) University of Nottingham, Nottingham
Akustina MORNI Senior Adviser
International Organisation of Employers
Lara MERLING Policy Advisor
Economic & Social Policy Department
International Trade Union Confederation