This story was written by the ILO Newsroom For official ILO statements and speeches, please visit our “Statements and Speeches” section.

327th session of the ILO Governing Body

ILO Governing Body elects Dr. Ulrich Seidenberger as new chairperson

Ambassador Seidenberger from Germany will head the International Labour Organization’s executive body for the period 2016-2017.

Press release | 11 June 2016
Dr. Seidenberger (left), new chair of ILO Governing body shaking hands with Misako Kaji, former chair
GENEVA – The Governing Body of the International Labour Organization (ILO) elected Dr. Ulrich Seidenberger as Chairperson for 2016-17.

Dr. Seidenberger, Ambassador and Chargé d’affaires a.i., Permanent Mission of Germany to the International Organizations in Geneva, replaces Misako Kaji, Ambassador and Deputy Permanent Representative of Japan to the United Nations in Geneva, who served as Governing Body Chairperson since June 2015.

As a lawyer, Ambassador Seidenberger looks back at a long diplomatic career with the German Federal Foreign Office, including an assignment to the United Nations in New York.

Jørgen Rønnest, Director, International Affairs, Danish Federation of Employers was re-elected as Employer Vice-chairperson. Luc Cortebeeck, President of the Confederation of Christian Trade Unions in Belgium, was re-elected Workers’ Vice-chairperson. The two vice-chairs will also serve as spokespersons of their respective groups.

The three will serve as Officers of the Governing Body during the period 2016-17.

The 327th Session of the Governing Body also considered a range of other business, including reports of the ILO Committee on Freedom of Association.

The Governing Body is the executive body of the International Labour Organization (ILO). It meets three times a year, in March, June and November, and takes decisions on ILO policy, the agenda of the International Labour Conference, and the draft Programme and Budget of the Organization for submission to the Conference.

It is composed of 56 titular members (28 Governments, 14 Employers and 14 Workers) and 66 deputy members (28 Governments, 19 Employers and 19 Workers). Ten of the titular government seats are permanently held by States of chief industrial importance (Brazil, China, France, Germany, India, Italy, Japan, the Russian Federation, the United Kingdom and the United States). The other Government members, and the worker and employer members, are elected by the Conference every three years.