This story was written by the ILO Newsroom For official ILO statements and speeches, please visit our “Statements and Speeches” section.

321st Session of the Governing Body

ILO Governing Body elects Apolinário Jorge Correia as new chairperson

Angola’s Permanent Representative to the United Nations in Geneva will head the International Labour Organization’s executive body for the period 2014-2015.

Press release | 13 June 2014
GENEVA – The Governing Body of the International Labour Organization (ILO) elected H.E. Ambassador Apolinário Jorge Correia, Permanent Representative of Angola to the United Nations in Geneva, as Chairperson for 2014-15.

Apolinário Jorge Correia replaces Victoria Marina Velásquez de Avilés, Ambassador and Permanent Representative of El Salvador to the United Nations Office at Geneva, who served as Governing Body Chairperson since June 2013.

Ambassador Correia looks back at a long diplomatic career, including assignments with the United Nations, the ILO and other international agencies.

Jørgen Rønnest, Director, International Affairs, Danish Federation of Employers was elected as Employer Vice-chairperson. Luc Cortebeeck, President of the Confederation of Christian Trade Unions in Belgium, was re-elected Workers’ Vice-chairperson. The two vice-chairs will also serve as spokespersons of their respective groups.

The three will serve as Officers of the Governing Body during the period 2014-15.

The 321st Session of the Governing Body also considered a range of other business, including a report of the ILO Committee on Freedom of Association and the strategy for wider ILO engagement with the private sector.

During its 103rd Session (28 May-12 June 2014), the International Labour Conference elected new members of the Governing Body for the period June 2014- June 2017.

The Governing Body is the executive body of the International Labour Office (the Office is the secretariat of the Organization). It meets three times a year, in March, June and November, and takes decisions on ILO policy, the agenda of the International Labour Conference, and the draft Programme and Budget of the Organization for submission to the Conference.

It is composed of 56 titular members (28 Governments, 14 Employers and 14 Workers) and 66 deputy members (28 Governments, 19 Employers and 19 Workers). Ten of the titular government seats are permanently held by States of chief industrial importance (Brazil, China, France, Germany, India, Italy, Japan, the Russian Federation, the United Kingdom and the United States). The other Government members, and the worker and employer members, are elected by the Conference every three years.