The ILO-WED team

Organizational description | 12 September 2019

Lead Technical Officer
Charleine is a technical officer to ILO-WED Programme since 2015. She supports the implementation of the ILO strategy on promoting women's entrepreneurship development through programme coordination, knowledge generation, partnership building and technical assistance to field initiatives in several countries, with a special interest in fragile States. Before taking up her current responsibilities, Charleine worked at the ILO’s Employment Department on enabling mechanisms supporting transitions from the informal to the formal economy. She also worked with the African Development Bank and the United Nations Development Programme on community recovery programmes in conflict-affected areas. Charleine speaks English and French and holds an advanced Master’s degree from Solvay Brussels School of Economics and Management.

Programme Officer
Adriana is a Programme Officer for WED and supports development cooperation projects, partnership building and communication. Prior to joining ILO-WED, Adriana worked with the Green Jobs Programme and the Enabling Environment for Sustainable Enterprises Team at the ILO. She has experience working in the areas of gender, sustainability, and migration including with WBCSD, IOM and WECAN International. She holds a M.A. in Sustainable Development from IHEID in Geneva, where her thesis focused on the gendered implications of climate change for the vulnerability and resilience of smallholder farmers, and a B.A. Honours in International Development Studies and Environment and Resource Studies from Trent University in Canada. She is a national from Honduras and is fluent in Spanish and English.

Amélie DUVAL
Technical Officer

As Technical Officer with WED, Amélie supports implementation and upgrading of ILO-WED core tools, especially in French-speaking African countries. She coordinates the sectoral WED Assessment in the agriculture and renewable energy sectors of Somalia. In parallel, she supports the production of the regional report on the MNE Declaration with the MULTI Unit. Before joining the ILO, she worked with NGOs promoting women's economic empowerment through projects, capacity building and advocacy in Europe and Africa. Amélie holds a master’s degree in Geography of Development from La Sorbonne and a MPhil in Multi-disciplinary Gender Studies from Cambridge.

Technical Officer
Jaylan supports development cooperation projects, develops knowledge products and manages trainer certification. Before joining the ILO, she managed the training programme in an incubator for social enterprises in Egypt and trained and mentored entrepreneurs in price management and productivity improvement. Jaylan spent the first part of her career in the private sector specializing in programme management, pricing and productivity improvement. She holds a master’s degree in Public Administration from the Hertie School of Governance in Berlin, Germany where she studied the effectiveness of interventions targeting women’s economic empowerment. She is fluent in Arabic, English and German, and has working proficiency in French.
Other team members working on WED and related topics:

Merten Sievers


The ILO-WED Programme wishes to thank its past staff:

  • Virginia Rose Losada
  • Joni Simpson

The ILO-WED Programme also wishes to thank past interns for their support and contribution:

  • Mathilde Hebert
  • Elyssa Majed
  • Lourdes Toledo
  • Bahar Ucar
  • Sara Cavallo
  • Ludmilla Azo
  • Guillaume Baillargeon
  • Andrea Bocanegra
  • Charles Cauchon