Bangladesh National Qualification Framework

The journey towards establishing a harmonized quality assured qualification system

Feature | Dhaka | 03 February 2020
What is Bangladesh National Qualification Framework (BNQF)?

Bangladesh National Qualification Framework (BNQF) is a Structure that classifies qualifications by hierarchical levels based on learning outcomes, volume of learning and roles and responsibilities. BNQF operates to achieve a qualification through inter-related systems of qualification development, training delivery, assessment and certification BNQF promotes quality through systematic operation under the interrelated systems.

The ILO aims to assist the government of Bangladesh to extend the NTVQF beyond the TVET sub-sector through Skills 21 – Empowering Citizens for Inclusive and Sustainable Growth funded by the EU to Bangladesh National Qualification Framework (BNQF), which will provide a route that leads to a unified or harmonized quality assured qualification system.

Features of the BNQF

Harmonized/Linked Framework: Includes the following education sub-sectors: Schools, Madrasa, TVET, and higher education.
Number of Levels: Consists of 11 qualification levels and one (1) Pre-Vocational level with defined learning outcome descriptors for each level
Flexible Vertical and Horizontal Pathways: Facilitates mobility and progression vertically and horizontally within and across education sub-sectors
Credit system: Allows accumulation and transfer that enables learning to be transferred from one setting to another
Lifelong Learning: a means to validate learning achieved outside formal instruction
Quality Assurance System: to promote national qualification standards, comparability to international benchmarks, and mobility of graduates

Achievements so far

• A BNQF National Steering Committee (NSC) formed by the government under the Chairmanship of Hon’ble Minister, Ministry of Education
• Seven Technical Committees for different education streams formed to support the development of the BNQF structure with level descriptors as per their agreed ToR
• Capacity development of seven TWG on the importance of a national qualification framework
• Draft consultation paper and roadmap prepared and initial feedback gathered from TWGs
• Finalized the BNQF structure, pathways and level descriptor 

Way forward
  • Develop National Quality Assurance System (NQAS) for BNQF
  • Develop and distribute the BNQF Implementation Guidelines
  • Develop an advocacy and capacity development program for the implementation
  • Conducting training for implementing agencies/relevant stakeholders
Skills 21 project is a joint initiative of the Government of Bangladesh and the International Labour Organization (ILO), funded by the European Union. The project seeks to increase productivity and employment opportunities through an environmentally conscious, inclusive, demand-driven, and interlinked skills development system responding to the needs of the labour market.