Media advisory

ILO to release new analysis of labour market and social trends

Media advisory | 21 May 2021
GENEVA (ILO News) – The International Labour Organization (ILO) will publish a new edition of its World Employment and Social Outlook: Trends 2021 (WESO Trends), which looks at the effects of the COVID-19 pandemic on the global labour market and the prospects for recovery.

The WESO Trends and accompanying press release will be published on Wednesday 2 June. It covers the extent and consequences of the labour market disruption caused by the crisis, including the effects on inequality, working poverty and youth employment. It also outlines principles for a comprehensive and human-centred recovery strategy.

The report and all associated materials will be under STRICT EMBARGO until  Wednesday 2 June at 11:00 GMT (13:00 CEST).

ILO Director-General, Guy Ryder, and Richard Samans, Director, ILO Research Department, will present the findings at an embargoed virtual press briefing on Wednesday 2 June from 11:00 to 12:00 Geneva time (9:00 to 10:00 GMT).

Selected regional journalists will be able to follow the virtual briefing via YouTube. The link will be sent in advance.

Login details for the virtual press briefing will be sent to UNOG-accredited correspondents in advance.

Audio of the briefing will be made available to the UNOG press corps and registered journalists after the press conference.

Embargoed copies of the WESO Trends, the press release and other materials can be made available to recognized media on request.

For further information and to arrange media interviews, please contact the ILO Department of Communication: newsroom@ilo.org.

For broadcast coverage and interviews, please contact: multimedia@ilo.org.