ILO Governing Body elects new Asian members

The ILO elects eight Asian countries as members of its Governing Body during it´s annual International Labour Conference.

Press release | 07 June 2005

The International Labour Organization has elected eight Asian countries to membership of its Governing Body.

The governments ofAustralia, thePhilippinesandSri Lankawill serve as members for the three-year period 2005-2008. Five other Asian governments will serve as deputy members,Cambodia, theRepublicofKorea,Pakistan,SingaporeandVietnam. 

The elections took place during the International Labour Conference, the annual meeting of the ILO.

The Governing Body is the executive body of the ILO. It meets three times a year, in March, June and November. It takes decisions on ILO policy, decides the agenda of the International Labour Conference, adopts the draft Programme and Budget of the Organization for submission to the Conference, and elects the Director-General.

It is composed of 56 titular members (28 Governments, 14 Employers and 14 Workers) and 66 deputy members (28 Governments, 19 Employers and 19 Workers). Ten of the titular government seats are permanently held by States of chief industrial importance (Brazil,China,France,Germany,India,Italy,Japan, theRussian Federation, theUnited Kingdomand theUnited States). The other Government members are elected by the Conference every three years (the last elections were held in June 2002). The Employer and Worker members are elected in their individual capacity.

For more information please contact

Sophy Fisher
Regional Information Officer for Asia-Pacific
Tel: 09 895 0912