Regional Economic Communities (RECs) - Work on the Free Movement of Persons and Labour Migration

The International Labour Organization is doing important work on improving labour migration governance with African RECs (Regional Economic Communities) particularly on labour provisions of Free Movement of Persons Protocols and Labour Migration policies, legislation and practices. The ILO has also supported tripartite labour migration policy frameworks, dialogue forums, as well as action plans at the RECs level. ILO’s work includes improving capacity-building, providing policy-advice, carrying out labour market needs assessments, supporting the collection of labour migration data, improving migrant workers’ skills recognition, social protection’s access and portability, fair recruitment, etc.
  1. AMU (Arab Maghreb Union)

    Member states: Algeria, Lybia, Mauritania, Morocco, and Tunisia

  2. CEN-SAD (The Community of Sahel-Saharan States)

    Member States: Benin, Burkina Faso, Central African Republic, Chad, the Comoros, Côte d’Ivoire, Djibouti, Egypt, Eritrea, the Gambia, Ghana, Guinea-Bissau, Libya, Mali, Mauritania, Morocco, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Somalia, the Sudan, Togo and Tunisia

  3. COMESA (Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa)

    Member States: Burundi, the Comoros, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Djibouti, Egypt, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Rwanda, Sudan, Swaziland, Seychelles, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe

  4. EAC (East African Community)

    Member States: Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, South Sudan, Uganda and United Republic of Tanzania

  5. ECCAS (Economic Community of Central African States)

    Member States: Angola, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Rwanda and Sao Tome and Principe

  6. ECOWAS (Economic Community of West African States)

    Member States: Benin, Burkina Faso, Cabo Verde, Côte d’Ivoire, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone and Togo

  7. IGAD (Intergovernmental Authority on Development)

    Member States: Djibouti, Ethiopia, Eritrea, Kenya, Somalia, the Sudan, South Sudan and Uganda

  8. SADC (Southern African Development Community)

    Member States: Angola, Botswana, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe