ILO Country Office for Harare staff list

Ms. Hopolang Phororo

ILO Harare Office
8 Arundel Office Park, Norfolk Road, Mt Pleasant
P.O. Box 210, Harare, Zimbabwe
Tel: +263 242 369805-12; +263 772129210-3
Fax: +263 242 369813-4
Twitter: @iloharare

Ms Hopolang Phororo is the Director for the ILO Country Office for Zimbabwe and Namibia . She has worked for the Government of Lesotho in the Ministry of Agriculture, Cooperatives and Marketing as a Marketing Officer; in academia, at the Institute of Southern African Studies (National University of Lesotho) as a Research Fellow, undertaking research on agriculture and socioeconomic issues; and at UNDP, as a National Programme Officer in the Office of the Resident Coordinator. Subsequent to that, Ms Phororo worked for four years as a Researcher at the Namibian Economic Policy Research Unit (NEPRU), where she undertook research on HIV/AIDS; socioeconomic and agriculture topics. She has worked for more than ten years in the ILO, as a Decent Work Focal Point Officer and Youth Employment Specialist in the Regional Office for Africa; and as the Deputy Director for the Dar es Salaam Country Office. She has published several working papers and selected articles and chapters in books on HIV/AIDS, youth employment and agricultural marketing related topics. Ms Phororo is passionate about mentoring and coaching women, particularly as a response in the fight against gender violence and has published a motivational and inspiring book. She holds a Masters Degree in Agricultural Economics from the University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign in the United States.  

ILO Harare Office

Name Title
Ms. Hopolang Phororo Director
Ms. Doris Jindu Executive Assistant to the Director
Ms. Maria Mutandwa Communications and Information Management Officer
Ms. Rosemary Hunidzarira Operations Officer
Mr. Adolphus Chinomwe Senior Programme Officer
Mr Tafadzwa Murungu Programme Assistant
Ms. Theresia Makaha Senior Human Resources Assistant
Mr. Alfred Musana Senior Information Technology Assistant
Ms. Gloria Makomeke Office Support Assistant
Ms. Queen Mawoyo Office Support Assistant
Mr. Fungai Mudzengerere Senior Driver

DWT Specialists

Ms. Annamarie Kiaga Informal Economy Specialist

HIV & AIDS/Spotlight Initiative

Ms. Ida Tsitsi Chimedza National Focal Point in HIV and AIDS
Ms. Danai Mahachi Programme Assistant

Green Jobs enterPRIZE Project

Mr. Tafadzwa Chirinda National Project Coordinator

Empowerment for Women and Youth (E4WAY) Project

Mr. Jairos Chanetsa Programme/Finance and Admin Assistant
Mr. Gift Maenda Driver

Employment Promotion & Labour Market Governance Project

Mr. Fortune Sithole Programme Assistant

Sustainable Supply Chains to Build Back Better Project (Namibia)

Mr. Oliver Mungu Numwa National Project Coordinator
Mr. Helmut Puleni Kafita Programme Support Assistant

Joint UNFPA/ILO SDG Fund on Gender Responsive and Pro-employment Budgeting in Namibia

Ms. Natalia Halweendo National Project Coordinator