About ILO-Abuja Office

The ILO Abuja Office, maintains overall responsibility for the ILO's presence and activities in four (4) Anglophone Countries of West Africa. The Countries are Nigeria, Ghana, Liberia, and Sierra Leone. It also serves as the liaison office for Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS). It takes supports its constituents in defining programme priorities, activities, monitoring, and overall programme delivery.

The purpose of ILO technical cooperation is the implementation of the Decent Work agenda at the national and regional levels. The ILO Country Office, Abuja works with constituents to achieve the four strategic objectives of the ILO in its member-states. The Strategic Objectives include:
  • Set and promote standards and fundamental principles and rights at work
  • Create greater opportunities for women and men to decent employment and income
  • Enhance the coverage and effectiveness of social protection for all
  • Strengthen tripartism and social dialogue

ILO Abuja provides technical guidance on policy issues, and assistance for the design and implementation of development projects and programmes. The identification and achievement of the objectives of the ILO depends on the needs of each of the constituents as reflected in the Decent Work Country Programme (DWCP) of each country.

The International Labour Organisation (ILO) Office in Nigeria was established as the first African Field Office (AFO). It came into existence in 1959 when the Government of the Federation of Nigeria (as it was called then) signed an agreement with the International Labour Organisation (ILO) concerning the establishment of the ILO Office in Nigeria. The agreement signed in Lagos on 14th January, 1959 came into force immediately.

The first African Field Office (AFO) was located in Lagos and continued operating in Lagos from its inception in January 1959 to July 2004. Following the relocation of the United Nations (UN) agencies in Nigeria to Abuja, the Federal Capital Territory (FCT); the ILO moved its office from Lagos to Abuja.

The ILO Country Office in Abuja currently coordinates the implementation of the ILO Technical Cooperation assistance in four (4) Anglophone West African Countries of Nigeria, Ghana, Liberia and Sierra Leone. It also serves as the liaison office to Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS).