International labour standard instruments on Working Time and organization

The ILO has adopted 25 Conventions and 14 non-binding Recommendations in the area of working time, beginning with its very first Convention on hours of work in 1919. These standards cover a wide range of subject matter including hours of work, weekly rest, paid annual leave, night work, and part-time work. Many of these standards are quite old; have been widely denounced (e.g., the Night Work (Women) Convention, 1919 (No. 4)); and/or have been replaced by newer standards. The most significant working time-related standards which remain in force are as follows:

Hours of Work Industry Convention, 1919 (No. 1)

Hours of Work (Commerce and Offices) Convention, 1930 (No. 30)

Forty-Hour Week Convention, 1935 (No. 47)

Weekly Rest (Industry) Convention, 1921 (No. 14)

Weekly Rest (Commerce and Offices) Convention, 1957 (No. 106)

Night Work (Women) Convention (Revised), 1948 (No. 89) and its Protocol

Night Work Convention, 1990 (No. 171)

Holidays with Pay Convention, 1936 (No. 52)

Holidays with Pay Convention (Revised), 1970 (No. 132)

Part-Time Work Convention, 1994 (No. 175)