Luis Aparicio Prize


Chris f. Wright
Chris F Wright
This is footnote


Ariel Avgar
Ariel Avgar


Keith Townsend
Keith Townsend

2015 Edition of the Luis Aparicio Prize

The second Edition of the Luis Aparicio Prize took place in 2015. A call for nominations was sent in January and nominations were received until the end of June. Thirteen very qualified nominations were received.

The 2015 nominees:

  • Ariel Avgar, University of Illinois, USA
  • Jonathan Booth, London School of Economics, UK
  • Rosemary Danesi, University of Lagos, Nigeria
  • Jimmy Donaghey, University of Warwick, UK
  • Hyunji Kwon, Seoul National University, Korea
  • Ryan Lamare, Penn State University, USA
  • Chikako Oka, Royal Holoway University, London, UK
  • Dionne Pohler, University of Saskatchewan, Canada
  • Andrea Signoretti, University of Verona, Italy
  • Aaron Sojourner, University of Minnesota, USA
  • Keith Townsend, Griffith University, Australia
  • Johanna Weststar, Western University, Canada
  • Chris Wright, Sydney University, Australia

The selection process
The following people were part of the 2015 selection committee:

  • Evance Kalula, President, ILERA
  • Janice Bellace, Past-President, ILERA
  • Dong-One Kim, President-Elect, ILERA
  • Moussa Oumarou, Secretary-Treasurer, ILERA
  • Changwon Lee, Korea Labour Institute
  • Maarten Keune, Univ of Amsterdam
  • Tom Kochan, MIT, Past-President, ILERA
  • Tayo Fashoyin, Past-Secretary-Treasurer ILERA
  • Helio Zylberstajn, Univ of São Paulo

These Committee members received all the curriculum vitea and were asked to score each candidates on three criteria: quantity of publications, quality of publications and all other academic achievements. Each criterion was scored on a 10-point scale. These scores were added and normalized across raters to account for any rater bias towards relatively high or low scores.

The final tally showed three candidates from the top to be very close to each other. To arrive at a winner from this shortlist, the Committee was asked to rank the three candidates based on their full academic records including publications and other indicators of academic excellence such as editorships, grants, conferences, etc.

The winner received a recognition plaque and a cheque for USD 1000. The runners-up were awarded a two-year membership in ILERA and a certificate of recognition. In addition, all the remaining candidates were awarded a one-year membership to ILERA.

At the gala dinner in Cape Town during the 17th World Congress, the winner received his award from Roger Blanpain, Belgium, Past-President of ILERA.