ILO DWT and Country Office for Eastern Europe and Central Asia

  • ILO Moscow Meets New Minister of Labour and Social Development of Kyrgyzstan

    On 14 December 2020, management and technical specialists of the ILO Office for Eastern Europe and Central Asia had an on-line meeting with the newly appointed Minister of Labour and Social Development of the Kyrgyz Republic, Aliza Soltonbekova.

  • ILO, Russia Sign Programme of Cooperation for 2021-2024

    The Russian tripartite constituents – Government, employers’ and workers’ organizations - and ILO Director-General Guy Ryder today signed a Programme of Cooperation between Russia and the ILO for the years 2021-2024. The Programme capitalizes on the experiences and results achieved under five Programmes of cooperation (PoC) signed since 2006, and also takes into consideration challenges caused by the COVID-19 pandemic.

  • 1 December World AIDS Day

    The first TV programme "HIV and AIDS and the World of Work in the Russian Federation" from the TV cycle "HIV/AIDS and the World of Work" was broadcast today at the "Profsouz TV" (Trade Union TV) channel

  • ILO priorities during the pandemic and beyond: Subregional programming meeting

    How to organize activity of the International Labour Organization during the pandemic and beyond? What experience has been accumulated in the past year? What are the lessons learned? These issues were high on the agenda of the ILO Subregional Meeting.

  • 9th BRICS Trade Union Forum

    The forum was attended by 106 delegates representing 13 national trade union centres which bring together almost 400 million workers, and by honorary guests from Russia and beyond.

  • Georgian Judges exchange views on legislative reforms

    Fifteen judges from a number of City and Appellate Courts in Georgia, came together virtually on October 24 -25 to learn about amendments to the Labour Code adopted on 29 September 2020 and exchange views on the impact of these amendments on cases before them.

  • ILO presented report on Women and Work in Uzbekistan: Towards Gender Equality and Decent Work for All

    Uzbekistan has taken significant steps to improve women’s situation in the world of work, yet gender gaps remain. Gender-equitable socioeconomic development will require promoting decent work and a social protection floor for all, and addressing gender biases in laws, policies, institutions, and practices, says new report on Women and Work in Uzbekistan launched in Tashkent today.

  • Productive employment and decent work in Uzbekistan in the post-COVID-19 period

    A range of response measures undertaken by Uzbekistan to mitigate the impact of COVID-19, facilitates strong and fast labour market recovery echo the ILO’s four-pillar policy framework to combat COVID-19. This was stated by the participants of the webinar devoted to the launch of a new report by the Ministry of Employment and Labour Relations of Uzbekistan on the impact of COVID-19 on the labour market and efforts made to support Uzbek workers.

  • The Federation of Independent Trade Unions of Russia Marks Its 30th Anniversary: ILO Director General’s Address

    The government, trade unions and employers of Russia have succeeded in creating a robust and effective system of social partnership – Guy Ryder, Director General of the International Labour Organization (ILO), made this assertion in his video address to the delegates of the General Council of the Federation of Independent Trade Unions of Russia. The conference celebrating the Federation’s 30th anniversary was held on September 19 at the FITUR headquarters.

The ILO Decent Work Technical Support Team and Country Office for Eastern Europe and Central Asia (formerly called the ILO Subregional Office for Eastern Europe and Central Asia; the new name designated in April 2010) has worked in Moscow since 1959. The Office coordinates ILO activities in ten countries: Azerbaijan, Armenia, Belarus, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russian Federation, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan.


  1. © nevil zaveri 2021

    Homeworkers need to be better protected, says the ILO

    13 January 2021

    The dramatic increase in working from home due to the COVID-19 pandemic has highlighted the poor working conditions experienced by many homeworkers who, prior to the crisis, numbered an estimated 260 million people worldwide.

  2. ‘Voices’: Real people, true stories from the world of work

    04 January 2021

    The ILO welcomes 2021 with an innovative, multimedia platform that focuses on first person stories that take readers on a journey into the world of work.

  3. HIV/AIDS and the World of Work: Russian Trade Union TV Released New Programme

    30 December 2020

    On 30 December 2020, "Profsouz TV" released the 3rd TV programme from the cycle "HIV/AIDS and the World of Work" on "Role of social partners in addressing HIV/AIDS at the workplaces".

  4. Regional Alliance of Labour Inspections of CIS and Mongolia Holds General Conference

    28 December 2020

    On December 23, 2020 the Regional Alliance of Labour Inspections of the CIS and Mongolia (RALI CIS and Mongolia) held its General Conference which went online for the first time. The event was attended by the Alliance representatives from Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Mongolia, Tajikistan, Uzbekistan and the ILO Moscow Office.

  5. ILO Launches Webinar Series on Business and Human Rights for Civil Servants in Georgia

    17 December 2020

    On 16 December, International Labour Organization (ILO) in partnership with the Administration of the Government (AOG) of Georgia and the Civil Service Bureau of Georgia, launched a series of webinars on Business and Human Rights. The webinar series aims to strengthen the capacity of the Government in the implementation of the National Action Plan (NAP) on Business and Human Rights.