ILO is a specialized agency of the United Nations
Promoting jobs, protecting people



  1. New measures to protect seafarers

    11 April 2014

    The international maritime community has adopted measures to protect abandoned seafarers, and to provide financial security for compensation in cases of death and long-term disability.

  2. The Republic of the Congo ratifies the Maritime Labour Convention, 2006 (MLC, 2006)

    07 April 2014

    The Republic of the Congo is the 57th member State of the ILO, and the ninth African State – after Liberia, Gabon, Benin, Togo, Morocco, Nigeria, Ghana and South Africa – that ratified the MLC, 2006.

  3. Abandoned, but not alone

    07 April 2014

    ILO News visits the crew of the B Ladybug, who have been stranded off the coast of Malta for almost a year after their ship owner went bankrupt. The provision of financial security for abandoned seafarers and the issue of compensation are two key topics under discussion this week at the ILO.

  4. Argentina ratifies the Domestic Workers Convention

    24 March 2014

    Argentina is the thirteenth ILO member State and the seventh Latin American member State to ratify this instrument that seeks to improve the working and living conditions of tens of millions of domestic workers worldwide.

  5. Somalia ratifies three fundamental ILO Conventions

    20 March 2014

    Somalia ratifies the Freedom of Association and Protection of the Right to Organise Convention, 1948 (No. 87), the Right to Organise and Collective Bargaining Convention, 1949 (No. 98) and the Worst Forms of Child Labour Convention, 1999 (No. 182)

  6. Follow-up to the ILO Declaration on Fundamental Principles and Rights at Work

    10 March 2014

    Review of annual reports and Country baselines under the ILO Declaration Annual Review (2000-2014)

  7. General Survey on Minimum Wage Systems (2014)

    10 February 2014

    The Committee of Experts on the Application of Conventions and Recommendations has just published its annual General Survey on member States' national law and practice.

© 1996-2014 International Labour Organization (ILO) | Copyright and permissions | Privacy policy | Fraud alert | Disclaimer