This story was written by the ILO Newsroom For official ILO statements and speeches, please visit our “Statements and Speeches” section.

Media Advisory

ILO to release latest World Employment and Social Outlook: Trends 2024

Media advisory | 04 January 2024
GENEVA (ILO News) – The International Labour Organization (ILO) will publish the latest edition of its annual World Employment and Social Outlook: Trends 2024 (WESO Trends) report on Wednesday 10 January 2024. The WESO Trends goes beyond the headline data and looks global labour market and employment trends.

While there has been surprising labour market resilience, the report detects imbalances and vulnerabilities that are damaging prospects for creating greater social justice and a sustainable global recovery, particularly in the context of multiple and interlocking crises.

The report and all associated materials will be under STRICT EMBARGO until Wednesday 10 January at 12:00 CET (11:00 GMT).

Embargoed copies of the report and the press release can be made available to recognized media upon request.

For UNOG-accredited correspondents, an embargoed press briefing will take place on Wednesday 10 January from 10.30 to 11:30 CET (09:30 to 10:30 GMT). Login details will be sent by email ahead of the briefing.

Recognized journalists will be able to follow the virtual briefing via YouTube. The link will be sent in advance upon request.

The press briefing will be given by the ILO Director-General, Gilbert F. Houngbo, Richard Samans, Director, ILO Research Department, and Ekkehard Ernst, Chief, ILO Research Unit.

Audio of the briefing will be available to the UNOG press corps and registered journalists after the press conference.

For more information and to arrange media interviews please contact the ILO Department of Communication: newsroom@ilo.org.

For broadcast coverage and interviews, please contact: multimedia@ilo.org.