Staff list

Governance and Tripartism Department (GOVERNANCE)

GOVERNANCE Department Team

Organizational description | 20 November 2019

Mrs Vera Lucia Isaac Paquete-Perdigão – Department Director

Vera Lucia Isaac Paquete-Perdigão
Ms Paquete-Perdigão is the Director of the Governance and Tripartism Department (GOVERNANCE) at the International Labour Organization. GOVERNANCE provides advice and assistance on a range of topics related to the governance of labour and employment relations. The department is responsible for promoting social dialogue and tripartism across socio-economic policy agendas, as well as for supporting well-balanced labour law reforms, achieving decent, safe and healthy working conditions, and serving as a centre of excellence on policies and action to support the realization of fundamental principles and rights at work.

Ms Paquete-Perdigão is an economist with a major on economic development and enterprise management. Prior to joining the ILO, she led a career in development at both national and international levels spanning some 20 years. She has extensive experience in economic development, child labour, project management, poverty reduction and gender issues.

In her native Guinea-Bissau, she served as Senior Officer in the Ministry of Planning and International Cooperation and then as Deputy Director of a social action fund supported by the World Bank. At international level before joining the ILO, she was a consultant for the World Bank’s Evaluation Department, in Washington DC, and in Angola.

Ms Paquete-Perdigão joined the ILO International Programme on the Elimination of Child Labour (IPEC) in 2001 as Senior Regional Coordinator for Africa. In 2015, she was appointed Director of the ILO Decent Work Team for Central Africa and Country Office for Cameroon, Angola and Sao Tome and Principe (DWT/CO–Yaoundé). In 2019, she was appointed Director of the ILO Decent Work Team for West Africa and Country Office for Senegal, Cabo Verde, Gambia, Guinea and Guinea-Bissau (DWT/CO–Dakar).

Management Support Unit

Mr Kamran FANNIZADEH Deputy Director
Ms Yuka OKUMURA Governance and Strategic Programming Specialist
Ms Anne SULLIVAN Administrative and Finance Assistant

Branches and Units

Labour Administration, Labour Inspection and Occupational Safety and Health Branch (LABADMIN/OSH)

Better Work Branch (BETTERWORK)

Fundamental Principles and Rights at Work Branch (FUNDAMENTALS)

Social Dialogue and Tripartism Unit (DIALOGUE)

Labour Law and Reform Unit (LABOURLAW)