Departments and offices

The International Labour Office is the permanent secretariat of the International Labour Organization. It is the focal point for International Labour Organization's overall activities, which it prepares under the scrutiny of the Governing Body and under the leadership of the Director-General.

The Office employs some 2,700 officials from over 150 nations at its headquarters in Geneva, and in around 40 field offices around the world. Among these officials, 900 work in technical cooperation programmes and projects.

The Office also contains a research and documentation centre.
  1. Policy (DDG/P)
  2. Management and Reform (DDG/MR)
  3. Field Operations and Partnerships (DDG/FOP)
  4. Reporting to the Director-General (DGREPORTS)
  5. Administrative Tribunal (TRIB)
  6. Associations

Policy (DDG/P)

  1. Internal services and administration (INTSERV)
    1. Document, Publications Production, Printing and Distribution Branch (PRODOC)
    2. Internal Services (INTSERV)
  2. Information and Technology Management (INFOTEC)
    1. Information Technology and Communications (ITCOM)
    2. Information management (ILO Library)
  3. Strategic Programming and Management (PROGRAM)
    1. Decent Work Country Programmes (DWCPs)
  4. Department of Communication (DCOMM)
  5. Financial Management (FINANCE)
  6. Human Resources Development (HRD)
  7. Official Meetings, Documentation and Relations

Field Operations and Partnerships (DDG/FOP)

  1. International Training Centre (TURIN)
  2. Partnerships and Field Support (PARDEV)
  3. Multilateral cooperation (MULTILATERALS)
  4. ILO Office for the United Nations
  5. Africa
    1. RO–Africa: ILO Regional Office for Africa
    2. CO–Abidjan: ILO Country Office
    3. CO–Abuja: ILO Office for Nigeria, Gambia, Ghana, Liberia and Sierra Leone
    4. CO–Addis Ababa: ILO Country Office for Ethiopia and Somalia
    5. CO–Algiers: ILO Country Office for Algeria, Libya Arab Jamahiriya, Morocco and Tunisia
    6. CO–Antananarivo: ILO Country Office for Madagascar, Comoros, Djibouti, Mauritius and Seychelles
    7. CO–Dar es Salaam: ILO Country Office for the United Republic of Tanzania, Kenya, Rwanda and Uganda
    8. CO–Harare: ILO Country Office for Zimbabwe
    9. CO–Kinshasa: ILO Country Office for the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Burundi, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo, Equatorial Guinea and Gabon
    10. CO–Lusaka: ILO Country Office for Zambia, Malawi and Mozambique
    11. DWT/CO–Cairo: ILO DWT for North Africa and ILO Country Office for Egypt, Eritrea, Sudan and South Sudan
    12. DWT/CO–Dakar: ILO DWT for West Africa and ILO Country Office for Senegal, Benin, Burkina Faso, Cabo Verde, Côte d’Ivoire, Guinea, Guinea–Bissau, Mali, Mauritania, Niger and Togo
    13. DWT/CO–Pretoria: ILO DWT for Eastern and Southern Africa and ILO Country Office for South Africa, Botswana, Lesotho, Namibia and Swaziland
    14. DWT/CO–Yaoundé: ILO DWT for Central Africa and ILO Country Office for Cameroon, Angola and Sao Tome and Principe
  6. Latin America and the Caribbean
    1. RO–Latin America and the Caribbean: ILO Regional Office for Latin America and the Caribbean (Web site in Spanish)
    2. CO–Brasilia: ILO Country Office for Brazil (Web site in Portuguese)
    3. CO–Buenos Aires: ILO Country Office for Argentina (Web site in Spanish)
    4. CO–Mexico: ILO Country Office for Mexico and Cuba (Web site in Spanish)
    5. DWT/CO–Lima: ILO DWT and Country Office for the Andean Countries (Web site in Spanish)
    6. DWT/CO–Port-of-Spain: ILO DWT and Office for the Caribbean
    7. DWT/CO–San José: ILO DWT and Country Office for Central America
    8. DWT/CO–Santiago: ILO DWT and Country Office for the South Cone of Latin America (Web site in Spanish)
    9. ILO–CINTERFOR: Inter-American Centre for Knowledge Development on Vocational Training (CINTERFOR)
  7. Arab States
    1. RO–Arab States: ILO Regional Office for the Arab States
      1. DWT–Beirut: ILO DWT for the Arab States
      2. ILO representative: Kuwait
      3. ILO–Jerusalem: ILO representative in Jerusalem
      4. ILO–Kuwait: ILO representative in Kuwait
  8. Asia and the Pacific
    1. RO–Asia and the Pacific: ILO Regional Office for Asia and the Pacific
      1. CO–Bangkok: ILO Country Office for Thailand, Cambodia and Lao People’s Democratic Republic
      2. CO–Beijing: ILO Country Office for China and Mongolia
      3. CO–Colombo: ILO Country Office for Sri Lanka and the Maldives
      4. CO–Dhaka: ILO Country Office for Bangladesh
      5. CO–Hanoi: ILO Country Office for Viet Nam
      6. CO–Islamabad: ILO Country Office for Pakistan
      7. CO–Jakarta: ILO Country Office for Indonesia and Timor-Leste
      8. CO–Kathmandu: ILO Country Office for Nepal
      9. CO–Manila: ILO Country Office for the Philippines
      10. CO–Suva: ILO Country Office for South Pacific Island Countries
      11. DWT/CO–New Delhi: ILO DWT for South Asia and ILO Country Office for India
      12. DWT–Bangkok: ILO DWT for East and South-East Asia and the Pacific
      13. ILO–Yangon: ILO Liaison Officer for Myanmar
  9. Europe and Central Asia
    1. RO–Europe and Central Asia: ILO Regional Office for Europe and Central Asia
    2. DWT/CO–Budapest: ILO DWT and Country Office for Central and Eastern Europe
    3. DWT/CO–Moscow: ILO DWT and Country Office for Eastern Europe and Central Asia
    4. ILO–Ankara: ILO Office for Turkey
    5. ILO–Berlin: ILO Office for Germany
    6. ILO–Brussels: ILO Office for the European Union and the Benelux countries
    7. ILO–Lisbon: ILO Office for Portugal
    8. ILO–Madrid: ILO Office for Spain
    9. ILO–Paris: ILO Office for France
    10. ILO–Rome: ILO Office for Italy and San Marino
    11. NC–Astana: ILO National Coordinator for Kazakhstan
    12. NC–Baku: ILO National Coordinator for Azerbaijan
    13. NC–Belgrade: ILO National Coordinator for Serbia
    14. NC–Bishkek: ILO National Coordinator for Kyrgyzstan
    15. NC–Chisinau: ILO National Coordinator for Moldova
    16. NC–Dushanbe: ILO National Coordinator for Tajikistan
    17. NC–Kiev: ILO National Coordinator for Ukraine
    18. NC–Minsk: ILO National Coordinator for Belarus
    19. NC–Sarajevo: ILO National Coordinator for Bosnia and Herzegovina
    20. NC–Skopje: ILO National Coordinator for The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia
    21. NC–Tirana: ILO National Coordinator for Albania
    22. NC–Yerevan: ILO National Coordinator for Armenia

Reporting to the Director-General (DGREPORTS)