ILO is a specialized agency of the United Nations

Global Youth Consultations

The ILO held events in more than 40 countries around the world from March to May 2012 to hear young people’s views on the alarming youth employment situation.

Type: Event
When: 1 March - 31 May 2012
Where: Worldwide

75 million youth worldwide are currently unemployed and more than 150 million young people are living on less than $1.25 a day. The ILO has warned that this situation risks creating a “lost generation” and is a threat to social cohesion.

For this reason, youth employment was one of the main themes of the annual International Labour Conference in June, and the ILO wants to hear young people and reflect their ideas and experience in the debate.

In the run-up to the annual Conference, the ILO has consulted young people from Beirut to Bangkok, from Lima to Lusaka. The national and regional consultations culminated in a major Youth Forum in Geneva in May, with some one hundred young people from employers’, workers’ and youth organizations from across the world taking part.

CountryFocal PointEmail
Africa [Regional report]
Democratic Republic of the CongoToudjida N.Andemel andemel@ilo.org;
EgyptAmal Mowafymowafy@ilo.org;
EthiopiaGeorge Okutho okutho@ilo.org;
Kenya Hopolang Phororophororo@ilo.org;
MadagascarHarivao Rakotoariniahfr@ilo.org;
South AfricaVic van Vuuren vanvuuren@ilo.org;
TanzaniaHopolang Phororophororo@ilo.org;
TogoDramane Haidarahaidara@ilo.org;
Tunisia Dorothea Schmidtschmidt@ilo.org;
Zambia Belinda Chanda chanda@ilo.org;
Zimbabwe Tapera Muziramuzira@ilo.org;
   
Americas [Regional report]
Argentina Alejandra Pangaropangaro@oit.org.ar;
Brazil  Lais Abramoabramo@oitbrasil.org.br;
ChilePatricia Roaroa@oitchile.org;
Colombia Italo Cardonacardona@oit.org.pe;
Costa Rica Mauricio Dierckxsensdierckxsens@ilo.org;
El Salvador Mauricio Dierckxsensdierckxsens@ilo.org;
Honduras  Dunia Floresfloresd@sjo.oit.or.cr;
Mexico Regina Galhardigalhardi@oit.org.mx;
Peru Juan Chacaltanachacaltana@oit.org.pe;
Regional Event: the CarribeanReynold Simonssimons@ilocarib.org.tt;
Trinidad and Tobago Giovanni di Coladicola@ilocarib.org.tt;
Uruguay Patricia Roaroa@oitchile.org;
   
Arab States [Regional report]
Jordan Shaza Ghaleb Jondialjundi@ilo.org;
Palestinian Territory Rasha El-Shurafaelshurafa@ilo.org;
Regional event: Arab StatesPatrick Darudaru@ilo.org;
   
Asia and the Pacific [Regional report]
BangladeshAndre Boguibogui@ilo.org;
China Huang Qunhuangqun@ilo.org;
India Sher Verickverick@ilo.org;
Indonesia & Timor-LesteTendy Gunawantendy@ilo.org;
Pakistan Manzoor Khaliqmanzoor@ilo.org;
Philippines Ruth Georgetgeorget@ilo.org; 
Regional Event: Pacific Islands David Lamottelamotte@ilo.org;
Sri Lanka Donglin Lilidl@ilo.org;
Thailand Krisdaporn Singhaseni krisdaporn@ilo.org;
Vietnam Sauli Hurrihurri@ilo.org;
   
Europe and Central Asia [Regional report]
Armenia Olga Koulaevakoulaeva@ilo.org;
Azerbaidjan Olga Koulaevakoulaeva@ilo.org;
FranceJean François Trogrlicparis@ilo.org;
Georgia Olga Koulaevakoulaeva@ilo.org;
ItalyLuigi Calcal@ilo.org;
FYROMNatalia Popova popova@ilo.org;
PortugalMafalda Tronchotroncho@ilo.org;
Regional Event: European UnionBarbara Janssensjanssens@ilo.org;
Serbia Dragana Marjanovicmarjanovic@ilo.org;
SpainJoaquin Nieto nieto@ilo.org;
The Ukraine Natalia Popova popova@ilo.org;
TurkeyOzan Cakmakcakmak@ilo.org;

Tags: youth employment

Unit responsible: Employment Policy Department (EMPLOYMENT)

This content is available in
Español  Français 
A A+A++  Print  Email
close

Email

Global Youth Consultations

To

Email address:
Separate multiple addresses with a comma (,)

Your details:

Your Name:
Your Email:
Send
Share this content
© 1996-2014 International Labour Organization (ILO) | Copyright and permissions | Privacy policy | Disclaimer