Disability in the Workplace and the ILO Global Business and Disability Network

Tuesday, 3 April 2012 - Webinar convened by the ILO and the UN Global Compact Office


This 60 minute webinar is convened by the ILO and the UN Global Compact Office to discuss the inclusion of workers with disabilities in the workplace. The webinar will also introduce the ILO Global Business and Disability Network, a voluntary group of multinational enterprises, employers’ organizations and similar networks formed at national or regional levels to address the issue of disability inclusion from a business perspective.

The webinar will introduce both the business and the human rights cases for disability inclusion. It will provide inspiration to companies at the time when an increasing number of countries are introducing or revising national laws on disability inclusion following ratification of the UN Convention of the Rights of Persons with Disabilities. Companies will also learn how the ILO Code of Practice for Managing Disability in the Workplace can serve as a guide in their disability inclusion policies and efforts.

The webinar will be conducted by experts from the ILO’s Disability Programme and the Bureau for Employers’ Activities and a business representative, member of the ILO Global Business and Disability Network Steering Committee. An earlier version of this webinar was delivered on 20 June 2011. It is being updated and offered at a more convenient time for participants in Asia, but anyone is welcome to join in, regardless of where you are located.

The webinar is taking place on Tuesday 3 April 2012 at 10:00 AM (Geneva time), 1:30 PM (New Delhi time), 3:00 PM (Bangkok/Jakarta time) and 4:00 PM (Beijing time). Registration is required to participate. Please register via the United Nations Global Compact page or send a message to webinar@unglobalcompact.org . You will receive a confirmation message together with the instructions for webinar participation.

For more information on the ILO’s Global Business and Disability network, please visit the website: http://www.businessanddisability.org/ and go to the publications section to consult Disability in the Workplace: Company Practices and Disability in the Workplace: Employers’ Organizations and Business Networks. To see what businesses are doing on disability inclusion, go to ILO TV at: http://www.youtube.com/ilotv#p/c/73A22D93B709417B and scroll down to the ILO Global Business and Disability Network.