Promoting jobs, protecting people
Database of national labour, social security and related human rights legislation

Saint Lucia > Fishers

Show abstract/citation:

Filtered by:
Country: Saint Lucia - Subject: Fishers

  1. Saint Lucia - Fishers - Law, Act

    Agriculture and Fisheries Incentives Act, 2014 (Act No. 13 of 2014). - Legislation on-line

    Adoption: 2014-05-12 | Date of entry into force: 2014-07-22 | LCA-2014-L-99620

  2. Saint Lucia - Fishers - Regulation, Decree, Ordinance

    Fisheries Regulations, 1994 (S.I. No. 9 of 1994). - Legislation on-line

    Adoption: 1994-03-05 | LCA-1994-R-88066

    "These Regulations apply to any fishing vessel or any other vessel capable of being used for fishing within fishery waters at a distance greater than three miles from the nearest land" (reg. 3). However, they seem to apply also to inland fisheries (see reg. 37).
    The 52 Regulations are divided into 8 Parts: Preliminary (I); Fisheries Advisory Committee (II); Foreign Fishing Licences (III); Local fishing Licences and Registration (IV); Sport Fishing Licences (V); Fish Processing Establishment Licences (VI); Fishery Conservation Measures (VII); Miscellaneous (VIII).
    Regulation 6 provides for the establishment of a Fisheries Advisory Committee. Regulations 13, 14, 15 and 16 prescribe conditions attached to a foreign fishing licence. In Part VII fishery conservation measures for lobsters, turtles, corals, sponges, algae, conch, sea urchins, marine mammals and freshwater shrimp and crayfish, are specified. Other provisions deal with protection of fishing in fishing priority areas and the use of certain fishing methods. (11 Schedules containing licence application forms (1, 4 and 7) licence forms (2, 5 and 8), fees (3, 6 and 9) and prescribing designated landing areas (10) and metric measurements (11).

  3. Saint Lucia - Fishers - Law, Act

    Fisheries Act, 1984 (Act No. 10). - Legislation on-line

    Adoption: 1984-07-18 | LCA-1984-L-88067

    The Act applies to Fishery Waters of St. Lucia defined as the EEZ, the territorial sea and the internal waters. The Act is divided into 5 Parts: Preliminary (I); Fisheries Management and Development (II); Marine Reserves and Conservation Measures (III); Enforcement (IV); General (V).
    Part II contains, inter alia, sections on management and development plans, Fisheries Advisory Committee, regional cooperation, licences for foreign and local vessels, fish processing establishments and local fisheries management areas. Part III contains sections on leasing of land for aquaculture, marine reserves and prohibited methods. (43 sections)

© Copyright and permissions 1996-2014 International Labour Organization (ILO) | Privacy policy | Disclaimer