Countries covered

DWT/CO-Budapest serves 18 countries in Central and Eastern Europe from the Baltic States to Albania, from the Czech Republic to Ukraine. It is also responsible for coordinating ILO activities in Kosovo as defined by the UN Security Council Resolution 1244.

ILO National Coordinators work in Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Moldova, Serbia and Ukraine. While these countries are very different economically, socially and culturally, they all went through a deep transformation after the fall of the Iron Curtain on their ways towards becoming market economies.

The ILO has assisted these countries in their economic and labour market transformation and in their accession to the EU. DWT/CO-Budapest also helps in the transfer of know-how from EU member states to South East Europe, Moldova and Ukraine in the framework of Decent Work Country Programmes.