ILO Country Office for Zambia, Malawi and Mozambique

  • Our story, your story

    The ILO’s office in Zambia was established in 1968 following an agreement signed between the Government of the Republic of Zambia and the International Labour Office. Originally, the Lusaka Office was responsible for eight countries in the Southern African region, namely: Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Swaziland, Zambia and Zimbabwe. The office also organised and supported ILO assistance to liberation movements of South Africa, Namibia and Zimbabwe. Following the end of the apartheid regime in South Africa and the opening of an ILO office in Pretoria in 1995, the country Office in Lusaka is now responsible for three countries: Zambia, Malawi and Mozambique.
    Since 1968, the Lusaka Country Office has been providing technical assistance advancing social justice to constituents for the countries. The support is provided through direct support to constituents or via development cooperation projects and programmes that enhance the Decent Work Agenda.

Key resources

  1. UN Development Assistance

    United Nations Development Assistance Framework for Mozambique, 2012-2015

    This United Nations Development Assistance Framework for Mozambique (UNDAF) 2012 – 2015 is the expression of the UN’s plan to support the Government of Mozambique in its final stretch towards the MDG timeframe of 2015.

  2. Decent Work

    Decent Work Country Profile Zambia

    The Decent Work Country Profile in Zambia is a first analysis of the four dimensions of decent work as defined in the DW Agenda: rights at work, employment promotion, social protection and social dialogue.